Scholarship Fund

The George Daly Memorial Scholarship Fund was established to honor a cherished son, brother, and friend, whom we lost on February 12, 2015 at the young age of 20.

George graduated with high honors in 2013 from Hunterdon Central Regional High School, where he was a member of the National Honor Society, Student Council, and was a team leader in Teen PEP. He was a starting pitcher for the varsity baseball team and played varsity basketball. George also played for the American Legion Post 159 baseball team and several other travel teams.

George was in his sophomore year at the University of Pittsburgh, majoring in molecular biology with minors in chemistry and physics. He was planning to pursue a career in medical research. George belonged to the Pi Kappa Alpha fraternity, where he served as a peer tutor in science.

George was a humble and compassionate person who gave freely of his time and energy to others. He was someone who was kind to those who could do nothing for him, simply because he saw the significance in each person, and the good in them. Someone who was the brightest light in every room just because he didn’t try to be. He was brilliant, gentle, and had the kind of humor that made you want to make him laugh, just because the sound was so wonderful.

The scholarship fund awards scholarships each year to Hunterdon Central Regional High School seniors who “Shine like George”. There will be 5 merit based scholarships of $1,000 each per year as well as one need and merit based scholarship worth up to $20,000 given to an individual each year for 4 years, to effectively impact that person’s life.

2015 SLG $1K recipients:

Pat Clare
Ian Vogel
Lauren Nazzarro
Alexis Morillo
Michael Perrone

The 2016 $1000 SLG winners are:

Colin McNeil
Matt Toke
Kerstin Baran
Jacquelyn Pierre
Amelia Miller

The 2016 GDMS award went to:

Ashley Cornetta $15,000 per year for 4 years
Jenna Atzert $5000 per year for 4 years

The 2017 $1000 SLG winners are:

Emma Webb
Brian Adams
Evan Youshock
Thomas Miller
Jacob Miller
Kevin Johnson

The 2018 $1000 SLG winners are:

Sarah Kolody
Christopher Tyerech
Ryan Walsh
Justin Sherman
Dominic Parente

The 2019 $1000 SLG winners are:

John Sperrazza
Luke Pizzico
Dan Mallea
Jacqueline Cornetta
Danielle Cornetta
Sneha Batheja

The 2020 $1000 SLG winners are:

Tyler Cassella
Tristan Spalter
Isabella Almeida
Matthew Scimeca
Kaitlyn Lazorchak
Ashleigh Paulik
Joshua Hill
Danielle Serrao
Brianna Bothe
Adrian Gomez

2021 $1000 SLG winners are:

Jake Campbell
Erin McGee
Ethan Blanda
Kevin Adams
Lili Testa
Darrin Michaels

2021 GDMS award of $20,000 per year for 4 years went to:

Emily Schneider

2022 $1000 SLG winners are:

Ryan Facinelli
Alejandro Pintado
Jessica Mastriano
Ana Hansson
Lauren Sherman

2023 $1000 SLG winners are:

Jared Cassella
Sonia Klein
James Lundari
Elena Lynott
Ravi Varma